Veniamin Berezinsky graduated Moscow University in 1962, had PhD in 1967 and Doctor of Science (professor) in 1977, both from P.N. Lebedev Institute of Physics. He worked in P.N. Lebedev Institute of Physics and Institute of Nuclear Research, and since 1991 he works in Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso. In USSR Academy of Sciences he was member of the Neutrino Council (chairman B. Pontecorvo) and Council of Particles and Cosmology (chairman A.D. Sakharov). Since 2004 he is a member of Istituto Veneto di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti. He worked as a member of Editorial Board of journal Soviet Astronomy Letters, Nuclear Instruments and Methods, and he was coordinating and receiving editor of the Astroparticle Physics journal.

V. Berezinsky has been awarded by the International Humboldt Prize (1991) and O’Ceallaigh Medal by IUPAP (2007).

V. Berezinsky is the author of more than 300 scientific papers and two books.